Texas Tech’s Keenan Evans Named Bob Cousy Award Finalist

Keenan Evans is the program’s first finalist for the Bob Cousy Award. 


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Keenan Evans of the Texas Tech men’s basketball team made program history and was named one of 10 finalists for the 2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year award as announced Monday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.


Evans is the first Texas Tech player to be recognized on any of the five major finalist lists for the awards presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The prestigious list includes the Bob Cousy, Jerry West, Julius Erving, Karl Malone and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar awards. Zach Smith was listed on the preseason Karl Malone Watch List in October.


Evans has worked his way to 18.6 points, 3.5 assists, 3.2 rebounds and 1.3 steals per game. The 18.6 points per game are second on the Big 12 leaderboard. Texas Tech has won eight of nine games this season and 14 of 18 games overall when Evans eclipses the 20-point mark. The senior guard has racked up 1,365 career points which is 20th on the program’s all-time scoring list. Evans’ 3.5 assists per game are ninth in the Big 12 rankings and his 310 career assists are 12th in program history.


The winner of the 2018 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, Calif. on Friday, April 6, 2018. Broadcast information will be released at a later date by the ESPN family of networks.


Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its 15th year recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to 10.


Bob Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Frank Mason III (Kansas – 2017), Tyler Ulis (Kentucky –2016), Delon Wright, (Utah – 2015), Shabazz Napier (Connecticut – 2014), Trey Burke (Michigan – 2013), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina – 2012), Kemba Walker (Connecticut – 2011), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland – 2010), Ty Lawson (North Carolina – 2009), DJ Augustin (Texas – 2008), Acie Law (Texas A&M – 2007), Dee Brown (Illinois – 2006), Raymond Felton (North Carolina – 2005) and Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s –2004).

For more information on the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, visit www.HoophallAwards.com.


2018 Bob Cousy Point Guard Award Candidates 


Joel Berry II – North Carolina
Jalen Brunson – Villanova
Jevon Carter – West Virginia
Chris Chiozza – Florida
Keenan Evans – Texas Tech

Devonte’ Graham – Kansas

Tra Holder – Arizona State
Jordan McLaughlin – Southern Cal
Cassius Winston – Michigan State
Trae Young – Oklahoma


Texas Tech continues its run of four consecutive midweek home games and faces off with Iowa State on Wednesday. Tipoff is scheduled for 8 p.m. CT from United Supermarkets Arena. The game will be televised by ESPNU and the ESPN app.









48 Years Ago: Jethro Tull Release Aqualung Red Raiders Heading to Tulsa as West Region Third Seed No. 7 Texas Tech Drops Finale at No. 10 Texas Lubbock Cultural District / Science Spectrum Calendar Texas Tech Athletics No. 25 Women’s Tennis Dominates Iowa State, 6-1 Texas Tech Athletics Texas Tech Claims Valspar Augusta Invitational Title