Gene Messer Shootout hosted by Frenship High School

The Gene Messer Shootout basketball tournament will take place Dec. 1st to the 3rd at Frenship High School. Frenship will host as well as four other local boys teams in the tournament (Coronado, Estacado, Monterey, Lubbock Titans) as well as a pair of area squads (Brownfield, Plainview). Come out and support a great local tournament.

Tournament Facts and Information
Frenship • Amarillo Palo Duro Brownfield • Decatur • Dumas • Duncanville El Paso Coronado • El Paso Eastwood El Paso Socorro • Lubbock Coronado • Lubbock Estacado Lubbock Monterey • Lubbock Titans • New Way Christian • Plainview • Seminole
• The 2016 Edition is the 23rd consecutive year of the tournament.
• This is the 19th year that The Gene Messer Auto Group has sponsored the tournament-started in 1998.
• The Championship game will be held at 4:00 pm on Saturday, December 3rd
• All games will be played at the Frenship High School Complex – “The Tiger Pit”
• Past Tournament Champions:
1994 – Seminole 2006 – Crowley (def. Palo Duro)
1995 – Frenship 2007 – Amarillo Palo Duro (def. El Paso Americas)
1996 – Canyon Randall 2008 – Frenship (def. Brownfield)
1997 – Lubbock Monterey 2009 – Lubbock Coronado (def. Ponder)
1998 – Frenship 2010 – Azle (def. El Paso Coronado)
1999 – Frenship 2011 – Southlake Carroll (def. Byron Nelson)
2000 – Canyon Randall 2012 – Frenship (def. Southlake Carroll)
2001 – El Paso Franklin 2013 – * No champ crowned due to weather forcing
2002 – Frenship schedule change (Frenship, Lubbock Coronado,
2003 – Amarillo Palo Duro (def. Azle) Lubbock Monterey, Amarillo Palo Duro all 4-0)
2004 – Crowley (def. Midland Lee) 2014 – Rockwall-Heath (def. Lubbock Estacado)
2005 – Amarillo Palo Duro (def. Monterey) 2015 – Rockwall-Heath (def. Lubbock Monterey)
• The tournament began in 1994 as the Cotton Pickin’ Shootout … name was changed to the Gene
Messer Shootout in 2001, but The Messer Auto Group has sponsored event since ‘98
• The 2016 tournament field includes five former tournament champions: Frenship (6 titles),
Amarillo Palo Duro (3), Seminole (1), Lubbock Coronado (1) and Lubbock Monterey (1).
• In last year’s title game, Rockwall-Heath defeated Lubbock Monterey 69-67 to win the crown, while
Amarillo Palo Duro defeated Plainview 66-61 in the third place contest.
• Playoff teams from the 2015-16 season in this year’s tournament are (13-of-16 teams):
Class 6A: Duncanville (lost in area round), El Paso Coronado (lost in bi-district), El Paso Eastwood
(lost in bi-district), Lubbock Coronado (lost in regional semi-final), Lubbock Monterey (lost
in bi-district)
Class 5A: Plainview (lost in regional qtr-final), Amarillo Palo Duro (lost in area round)
Class 4A: Decatur (lost in regional qtr-final), Lubbock Estacado (lost in regional semi-final),
Seminole (lost in regional qtr-final)
Class 3A: Brownfield (won state championship)
Homeschool: Lubbock Titans (Division II state champions), New Way Christian (lost in NCHBC
national tournament)
Fact sheet prepared by Texas Sports Marketing

Related Content